Housing Services

A History of Housing Services

In 1997 the provincial government announced that responsibility for funding and administration of all social housing in Ontario would be transferred to Municipalities. Municipal funding commenced in January 1998. The Ontario Social Housing Agreement was signed on November 17, 1999. This Agreement gave the Province of Ontario flexibility to devolve social housing to streamline administrative arrangements and simplify programs.

On December 14, 2000 Bill 128 was Proclaimed – Social Housing Act transferred all public housing to municipalities. On January 1, 2001 the Rainy River District Housing Authority was converted to the Rainy River District Housing Corporation (LHC.). Ownership transferred to the LHC with Rainy River DSSAB (now known as District of Rainy River Services Board) holding all shares.

In delivering Community Housing the District of Rainy River Services Board must adhere to all relevant legislative:

  •     Housing Services Act; and the
  •     Residential Tenancies Act

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can apply?

Can I choose where I want to live?

How much rent can I expect to pay?

How are people chosen for housing?

Has my application been processed yet?

What other information is required for my application to be considered complete and processed?

What should I do if my information or situation changes after I submit my application?

How long will it take for me to get a unit?

Skip to content